chains of shame.

i was tired,
i was chained,
i was hopeless
and You sang to me,
“you don’t have
to carry the world
on your shoulders.
you don’t have to
wear those chains.
you can be free.
I already forgave you.
you are blameless.”
and as You sang your
song, i realized that i
was the one who
put on myself the
chains i wore.
i didn’t have to
carry them, i didn’t
have to be a slave
to my chains, to my sin.
i tattooed myself
in shame and i hid my
face from You, not knowing
that all you ever wanted
was to wrap me in your
love and clothe me in grace.

Leave a Reply

